Visit "Where can I get vaccinated" or call 1-877-COVAXCO (1-877-268-2926) for vaccine information.


Motor Vehicle

Do not count on the State of Colorado or the County of Saguache to remind you to renew your plates! 

As a courtesy to our residents, the State of Colorado will send out renewal notices for currently registered vehicles.  Plates may be renewed online, by mail (PO Box 176), over the phone at (719)-655-2512 or in person.

As defined by Colorado Statute, renewals are required to be completed “not later than the last day of the month following the date of expiration.” This one month period is known as the “Grace Period."  Any registration renewed following this grace period will be required to pay a "late fee" of $25 a month, not exceeding $100.



The Clerk and Recorder, Motor Vehicle staff is dedicated to helping you register your vehicle. The Motor Vehicle Office is responsible for issuing Saguache County residents: License Plates, Titles, and Renewals.


Click Skip The Trip For Online Services

How to Get a Duplicate Title

Individuals in need of a duplicate title must provide a drivers license or State issued Identification. If there is an active lien showing on the ownership account, a letter of lien release will be also be required from the lien holder. Duplicate title requests may also be done by mail. Fill out the Form Number DR 2539A and mail it to the address in step 6 of those instructions with $8.20 check or Money Order.

Out Of State Vehicles



Out of State Vehicles must have a current title or, if the vehicle is being financed, an original registration certificate (not more than 6 months expired). Information Need:

  • Drivers License or State Issued Identification. 
  • Proof of Insurance
  • Weight Slip on Pickups over 4,500 lbs
  • V.I.N. Inspection

The Saguache County Sheriff's department does V.I.N. Inspections Mon-Friday from 8:00am to 4:00pm. For questions the Sheriff's office number is (719)-655-2544.

Disability Parking Privileges

Individuals in need of disability parking privileges must provide a drivers license or State issued identification and have the Form Number DR 2219 filled out by a medical doctor. Those may also be mailed to the Saguache County Clerk and Recorder at P.O. Box 176 Saguache CO 81149.